A DUI conviction in Clearwater has serious consequences, including potential, or sometimes mandatory, imprisonment. A DUI in which property damage or personal injury resulted is classified as a first degree misdemeanor with a potential punishment of 12 months in the Pinellas County Jail. Depending on your prior DUI history, you could be facing incarceration for 6 to 12 months in the Pinellas County Jail. A first DUI conviction with a blood or breath alcohol level under 0.15 in Clearwater could result in imprisonment up to 6 months. This will be increased to 9 months if your blood or breath alcohol level was 0.15 or greater or there was a minor in the vehicle. If this is your second DUI conviction, you will be facing up to 9 months in Pinellas County Jail. This will be increased to 12 months if your blood or breath alcohol level was 0.15 or higher or there was a minor present in the vehicle. If you receive a third DUI conviction in Clearwater more than 10 years after your prior DUI convictions, you may serve up to 12 months in Pinellas County Jail.
There are certain circumstances in which Florida law will mandate imprisonment. You will serve at least 10 days in Pinellas County Jail for a second DUI conviction that occurs within 5 years of any prior DUI conviction. You are required to serve at least 30 days in Pinellas County Jail for a third DUI conviction that occurs within 10 years of any prior DUI and will be convicted of a Felony DUI. If you are convicted of a Felony DUI in Clearwater, you will be facing up to 5 years in a Florida State Prison. Imprisonment will affect you and your family financially, professionally and personally. Contact our skilled DUI attorneys now at 727-222-3610. We are here to help you.